Mallow, Co Cork
Club No: 9298
e-mail: speakeasymallow@gmail.com Home | Welcome | About Us | FAQ| Members

Club History 1993-2001

(The history from 2002 on can be found on the club blog)

Club Presidents.
1993/94 Joe O'Connor….Boherbue.
1994/95 Ann Coughlan….Buttevant.
1995/96 Matt Lawlee….Ballyclough.
1996/97 John Stack….Mallow.
1997/98 Marie Fitzpatrick….Liscarroll.
1998/99 Jeremiah Roynane….Mallow.
1999/00 Kieran Buckley….Mallow.
2000/01 Michael Cronin….Donaraile.
2001/002 Dermot Meaney….Mallow.
2002/03 Pat Sexton....Mallow.
2003/2004 Pat Duggan...Mallow
2004/2005 Sean Corcoran...New Twopothouse
2005/2006 Angela Sheehan....Mallow
2006/2007 Mary Buckley....Mallow
2007/2008 Anne Buckley....Mallow
2008/2009 Ray Ryan....Mallow
2009/2010 Michael Cronin....Doneraile
2010/2011 Margaret O'Regan....Mallow
2011/2012 Tony O'Regan....Mallow
2012/2013 Jerry Mulcahy......Dromahane
2013/2014 Noel O'Connor....Doneraile

2014/15 Liam Flynn......Millstreet

2015/16 Marie Lynes......Mallow

2016/17 Marie Fitzpatrick....Liscarroll

2017/18: Helsa Giles, Castletownroche.

2018/19: Sean Corcoran, New TwoPotHouse.

Return to Top

October, 1'st Demonstration meeting held in the Hibernian Hotel

March, "Speakeasy" is chosen as Club's name.
April, Club officially created. First President is Joe O'Connor.
Pat Sexton elected as Division A Governor.
October, Kieran Buckley wins area final of Table Topics Contest.
Matt Lawlee wins Area and Division Finals of Humorous Speech Contest
and competes in District 71 final in Limerick.

May, First Club "Mystery Tour".
Ann Coughlan elected New President.
November, Club wins District 71 Membership Building Award.

Return to Top

May, Club hosts it's first "CTM Night". Joe O'Connor, Ann Coughlan, Matt Lawlee,
Aileen Fleming, Deirdre Horgan, Ger Cott,
achieve CTM (10 speeches)
Matt Lawlee elected President.
Joe O'Connor elected Area Governor.
October, Club launches its first book "Unaccustomed As I Am"
with special guest Brian Crowley MEP.
November, Tim Casey wins area final Table Topics Contest.
Matt Lawlee wins Division and District 71 finals of Humorous Speech Contest.
Club Achieves "Gold Elite Award"

March. Club hosts the launching of Area 17 book,
"A Taste of Toastmasters
by legendary Storyteller, Eamonn Kelly.
May, Joan Lenihan wins Area Final Evaluation Contest.
Pat Sexton competes in District Final, International Speech Contest.
John Stack elected Club President.
November, Pat Sexton wins Area, Division and District 71 Finals of Table Topics Contest.
Club wins "Gold Elite Award" in District 71.
Joe O'Connor wins "Area Governor of the Year Award"

April, Kieran Buckley wins Area Final, Evaluation Contest.
Pat Sexton wins Area Final, International Speech Contest.
May, Marie Fitzpatrick elected President.
November, Club wins "Gold Elite Award"

May, Jeremiah Roynane elected Club President.
Matt Lawlee appointed Area 17 Governor.
October, Gerry O'Callaghan wins Area Final Humorous Speech Contest.
Tim Casey wins Area Final Table Topics Contest.
November, Club hosts a Seminar, presented by Bob Finnegan entitled,
"How to become a Human Blender"
Club wins "Club Exellence GOLD Award"

Return to Top

April, Joan Lenihan wins Area Final Evaluation Contest.
Pat Sexton wins Area and Division Finals of International Speech Contest
and competes in District Final.
May, Joe O'Connor, Matt Lawlee and Pat Sexton achieve DTM (Distuingished Toastmaster).
The Highest education and leadership award in Toastmasters.
Kieran Buckley elected Club President.
October, Jeremiah Roynane wins Division Final Table Topics Contest and competes in
District Final.
November, Launch by Robert Walsh, County Sound (103FM) of the 2'nd Toastmasters Book,
"Sin Scéil Eile" ("That's Another Story")
Club wins "Club Excellence GOLD Award".
In the Distinguished Club Program, Speakeasy emerges as the "Best Club" in District 71
for the year 1998/99

March, Jeremiah Roynane wins Area Final Evaluation Contest.
May, Michael Cronin elected Club President.
John Stack elected District 71 Treasurer.
Jeremiah Roynane elected Area 17 Governor.

January, Speakeasy is nominated to host District 71 Autumn Conference.
April, Michael Cronin wins Area Final International Speech Contest.
Eileen Corkery wins Area Final Speech Contest.
May, Dermot Meaney elected Club President.
Michael Cronin appointed Area Governor.
Jeremiah Roynane elected Division A Governor.
November, (09/10/01) Club hosts District 71 Autumn Conference,
"The Speakeasy Blackwater Conference"
Matt Lawlee wins Area Final of Humurous Speech Contest
Club Christmas outing to Cork Greyhound Track

Return to Top

Roll Of Honour.
Humorous Speech Contest.
'93 Matt Lawlee.
'94 Pat Sexton.
'95 Matt Lawlee.
'96 Gerry O'Callaghan.
'97 Michael Cronin.
'98 Gerry O'Callaghan.
'99 Michael Cronin.
'00 Michael Walsh.
'01 Michael Walsh.

International Speech Contest
'94 Deirdre Horgan.
'95 Matt Lawlee,
'96 Kieran Buckley.
'97 Pat Sexton.
'98 Joan Lenihan.
'99 Pat Sexton.
'00 Pat Sexton.
'01 Eileen Corkery.

Table Topics Contest.
93' Kieran Buckley.
'94 Deirdre Horgan.
'95 Tim Casey.
'96 Pat Sexton.
'97 Noel O'Regan.
'98 Tim Casey.
'99 Jeremiah Roynane.
'00 Dermot Meaney.
01' Tim Casey.

Speech Evaluation Contest.
'94 Ann Coughlan.
'95 Ann Coughlan.
'96 Joan Lenihan.
'97 Kieran Buckley.
'98 Kieran Buckley.
'99 Joan Lenihan
'00 Elizabeth O'Brien.
01' Elizabeth O'Brien.

Return to Top